In the Winter Garden

0e628c28a5513399c378225fb2c13320.jpg

I am in a winter garden


Weeding out the chickweed and the thistles
Between the rows of wilted cabbages
I find lumps of coal
The kind they used to put in
The Christmas stockings of bad children
And shoes, not my size
With those uncomfortable pointy toes
Of the sixties
I load the weeds in the wheel barrow
Along with the coal, and the shoes
That don’t belong to me anymore
And realize I am in

Someone elsesĀ  winter garden

Leave a Reply

